What I Read This Year – 2016 Edition

Yes, I know I haven’t written since March but I couldn’t NOT make a post recapping and recommending my reads from this year. It was a record breaking year for books due to many flights and also using audible while traipsing up and down the road to Saigon. I finished 57 books, 5 ahead of my goal of 52.

First let’s start with my favorites:

Book I couldn’t stop recommendingA Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman. I absolutely loved everything about this book. It made me cry.

Favorite Series: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. It’s a futuristic telling of classic fairy tales. I thought it was a really fun take and I didn’t even notice that the final book was over 800 pages long.

Favorite Truth: Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach. This was a hard choice since I find reading non-fiction to be utterly fascinating. Truth to the saying “you just can’t make this stuff up”! Mary once again brought her humorous approach to researching interesting things about War that frankly I never think about.

Favorite YA: The Serpent King Jeff Zentner. Confession: I was planning a book club reunion/ girls trip to Nashville and wanted us to read a local author. My brother mentioned a book a friend recently had published so I choose it sight unseen. WHAT A GREAT CHOICE, which has also been reflected in many “Best of 2016” lists.

Favorite Book Published in 2016: Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, historical fiction I found this one very interesting and wanted to learn more about the history behind the real life characters.

5 Star Books

4 Star Books

3 Stars

2 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

