All Them Camping Jeans

Out of all the clothes in my closet jeans are the hardest to part with. I think about the struggle that occurred when buying them – the juice cleanse before shopping, the tears running down your face, the squats in the dressing room before seeing how they really look and the victory strut to the register when you finally find a winning pair. There is however a time in which they fall out of fashion *gasp*. I distinctly remember realizing that skinnies had replaced all previous type of cuts that Oprah had dictated were the most flattering style of each year. As my fingers ran down the beautiful stack of folded denim (a skill I honed while working at the GAP in high school) I reminisced of all the various girls nights out, cute summer wedges and even a tripping over of a wide leg with a crock pot in hand while in these denim delights. There was no way I could get rid of them, I would SAVE THEM FOR CAMPING!!!

Yes, camping! Even though my boot cut True Religions no longer looked good on a dance floor they were perfect for a weekend in the woods. Who doesn’t need a good pair of camping jeans. It doesn’t matter if they’re in style. Camping jeans end up smelling of camp fire, getting coated in melted marshmallow and keep the stank of not showering encased. I tried this for a while but after our time in Australia I went camping for a total of four nights – and you know what? I wore my in style skinny jeans so I could fit my gumboots over top of them …

So with this move I was left with a stack of 17 pairs of jeans that I knew with my heart of hearts that I would never wear again. I did what any respected quilter would do, I started cutting away to make a jean quilt. Okay I’ll be honest Robbo had wanted one for a while and I was having jean attachment issues – obviously. I spent last week cutting and measuring and sewing and un-sewing and bingewatching the Biggest Loser and ended up with a cute pattern using 6-inch and 8-inch squares and backed with a lovely red and white flannel. I chose red thread for the stitching because I think it was a nice contrast to the jeans themselves. Rob is now rugged up and happy to have his jean quilt and I’m stuck with trying to figure out what I’ll wear camping.

wp-1456050752764.jpg

Ta-dah!

wp-1456050755916.jpg

All rugged up and nowhere to go

wp-1456050762563.jpg

Great for a picnic!

One thought on “All Them Camping Jeans

  1. LOVE IT!!!! Sandi Pennington”IN GOD WE TRUST”

    From: Were Not In Kansas Anymore To: pennington_sandi@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, February 21, 2016 7:38 AM Subject: [New post] All Them Camping Jeans #yiv0616797291 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0616797291 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0616797291 a.yiv0616797291primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0616797291 a.yiv0616797291primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0616797291 a.yiv0616797291primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0616797291 a.yiv0616797291primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0616797291 WordPress.com | whodathunk posted: “Out of all the clothes in my closet jeans are the hardest to part with. I think about the struggle that occurred when buying them – the juice cleanse before shopping, the tears running down your face, the squats in the dressing room before seeing how they” | |

Leave a Reply

