Get Your Motor Running

I’m sure you’d heard stories or seen pictures of the motorbikes in Vietnam. I’m here to tell you, yeah, that’s how it is. At first I was pretty intimidated by all of the bikes weaving in and out of the traffic flow but then at further glance you quickly realize the traffic is like a living, breathing organism itself. When you finally brave the advice to “just start walking gosh darnit!!!” to cross the street you see the bikes all part of go in front and behind you and never (yet) hitting you and suddenly you’ve made it to the other side.

Although it does seem a bit chaotic at times but then when I think about what the traffic would look like if all of the bikes were cars I’m not sure how anyone would get around. Plus, the bikes are pretty darn convenient and easy to park. For my most recent birthday Robbo decided to surprise me with a Vespa! I haven’t been driving since we moved here (I can’t drive a car here) so it has been a real treat to be able to zip around town on this baby. Granted I’ve only been out on it twice without proper adult supervision and it was during the times of day when everyone is napping (more about that in another post) and without having to make any major turns – but I’m getting there. I figure practice makes perfect!

Um.... ummmm ... help?

Um…. ummmm … help?

in between the lines! (Always ample parking)

in between the lines! (Always ample parking)

Don't worry these streets were closed off to the general public

Don’t worry these streets were closed off to the general public

wpid-fb_img_1440938830301.jpg

Happy Birthday to Me!

Happy Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

