Escape to Monkey Mountain

On Saturdays we like to explore our new surroundings and one of the best ways to do that is by foot. We decided to walk from our house near Back Beach to the Front Beach area of Vung Tau. The goal was to get to Monkey Mountain (I’m sure it’s not officially called Monkey Mountain but since we can’t read Vietnamese we assumed that’s what the sign says). After a two mile walk (in which we passed some people “fishing” in a canal near our house. By fishing I mean wearing a battery pack looking similar to a Ghost busters set up and shocking the fish with poles that are conducting the electricity from the battery … all while standing in the water) we arrived close to the entrance. We had a little trouble finding the entrance but thankfully a Russian guy drove by and could tell we were lost and told us directions in Russian while pointing the way. At least we took a chance that he was giving us directions. It was a nice incline up to the monkeys but it was easy to find once we got there ( I mean it is one road and there are monkeys). You can buy or bring bananas to feed them, luckily the monkey’s know what to do and will happily jump on you to take the banana out of your hand as well. Even though they were fun to see I still think I prefer a little more distance between me and monkeys.

FishBusters!

FishBusters!

This monkey obviously knew I was missing my roos and decided to wear her baby

This monkey obviously knew I was missing my roos and decided to wear her baby

Whatchyou looking at fool?!

Whatchyou looking at fool?!

wpid-20150606_104158.jpg

I like to eat, eat, eat bananas

I like to eat, eat, eat bananas

Leave a Reply

