Food Friday – P-P-P-Pomelo

Food Friday is harder than I thought it’d be – given the ample amount of subjects. I went with a simple fruit this time, one that I have developed quite a habit – the pomelo. The pomelo is native to South and Southeast Asia, which is why it is so easy for me to find. It is very similar to the grapefruit but a much more mild in lip puckering bitterness. I really love grapefruit but since I can only eat it after adding approximately 1 cup of sugar to it the pomelo is a much more healthy alternative.

The pomelo is labor intensive to section however totally worth it. To best learn how to peel one I went to my first line of education, YouTube, where I found this great video with no words and background music with creepiness reminiscent of Flowers in the Attic. (Video at the end of the post). I’ve already found many great looking recipes on Pinterest and can’t wait to make the pomelo tart with honey meringue once my arsenal of kitchen tools arrive!

Then I tried on my own:

The pomelo waiting to be butchered

The pomelo waiting to be butchered

GIANT rind - not good tasting!

GIANT rind – not good tasting!

You need to peel off this membrane layer as it tastes  yucky.

You need to peel off this membrane layer as it tastes yucky.

If an expert peeled this the sections would not be broken up, but I'm not an expert ... yet.

If an expert peeled this the sections would not be broken up, but I’m not an expert … yet.

Leave a Reply

