What I really think of everyone’s pumpkin patch pics

Each year the signs of Autumn come barrelling in – it usually starts with Pinterest boards of home fall decorations and crafts, boot wish-lists and sweater/ scarf combinations with distressed leather bags, then the Facebook posts of first sightings of pumpkin spiced flavoured everything and finally the barrage of pics at the pumpkin patch.  Adorable kids and families all impeccably dressed in coordinating fall tones prescribed by Pantone – like radiant orchad, cypress, cognac, aurora red and mauve mist, pyramids of pumpkins being climbed on and mugs of warm cider.

This would all be fine and dandy if I weren’t watching from afar, and by afar I mean from a completely different season.  In Perth were in the midst of Spring (a beautiful Spring mind you, temps in the mid 70s, many lovely lunches at the beach and allergies going completely haywire).  To combat the effects of America’s most loved time of year I went to a patch as well – but the strawberry patch.  See while y’all are trying to lug giant pumpkins around, carving them up and saying you’ll roast the pumpkin seeds later (which come on, we all know that’s not going to happen) it is prime strawberry season here.  My friend Tori and I (with kids en towe) drove to a pick your own strawberry farm.  (side note: what a great idea, labor costs here in WA are insane and here they have insane carloads of people paying to pick them ourselves, it’s the Field of Dreams of strawberries!).

For only $10 you get a giant cardboard tray and pick until you can’t pick anymore (or carry anymore – those things get heavy!). I didn’t quite realize the quantity of the literal fruits of my labor until I started working through them.  After lots of washing and cutting I ended up with 5 containers of freezer jam, two strawberry pies, a Tupperware That’s a Bowl size of berries for snacking, and multiple bags of frozen berries for future use.  All in it was well over 20 cups of hulled strawberries.

Just as I was getting over the absence of Autumn a packaged arrived from my mom and my Kristin which included tasty fall oriented US treats.  So I sat down and enjoyed a nice piece of strawberry pie alongside s’mores flavored candy corn (and candy corn flavored M&Ms and candy corn flavored candy corn).

This is a strawberry pie

This is a strawberry pie

The literal fruits of my labor

The literal fruits of my labor

We forgot to get a picture of Tori and I so I did my selfie best

We forgot to get a picture of Tori and I so I did my selfie best

Goodies from 'Merica

Goodies from ‘Merica

wpid-20141009_110636.jpg

Did I mention I got stinging neddle?

Did I mention I got stinging neddle?

Tori and the boys

Tori and the boys

My helpers - although they had a hard time staying upright

My helpers – although they had a hard time staying upright

Leave a Reply

