Choux’s The Right

I’ve always enjoyed baking (which is good as I’ve always enjoyed eating).  Now my concoctions would never quite make it to the Great British Bake Off but they wouldn’t make it to to the Buzz Feed baking fails either … I definitely fall into the category of “tastes better than it looks”.  I decided to start down a path that would rectify this situation – I signed up for a baking class.

A friend had recommended Sweet Artist Academy after taking their European Breads class.  I perused their portfolio and realised that I want to enroll in every single class.  But alas if I did that right away I’d have a dirty house, a pile-up of laundry and a gain of about 25 pounds.  I selected the very appealing Choux Pastry class.

In the words of my 6 year old nephew when he’s talking about the Residence Inn –  It. Was. Awesome.  I was nervous going into the full day course and was really impressed how it went.  Patrick, the owner and pastry chef extriordonaire, did such an amazing job – and trust me, I’m a hard person to teach (as I get easily distracted, don’t follow directions well and am usually too busy talking).  We made eclairs, profiteroles, swans and multiple toppings and fillings.  At the end of the day I got to bring home about three boxes of pastry treats.  Then we had to find a way to eat it all … we managed but it was hard work.  The good news is that I have been able to replicate what I learned at home (although it was a bit awkward when I rocked up to a casual BBQ with a croquenbouche en towe …).

Working hard

Working hard

Let's go to a BBQ!

Let’s go to a BBQ!

Eat it up!

Eat it up!

Leave a Reply

