A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Crab Festival

okay, so something funny actually happened at the crab festival, not on the way, but it sounded more lyrical as the play title … a play title in which I was actually in.  I have quite the stage experience to be honest, in high school I was in a Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum.  My friend Gina and I were biblical prostitutes courtesans to be exact at the production at a local all boys boarding school … hey, they needed girls, we fit the bill.  We also got to sing and dance.  Looking back I can’t believe people had to listen to me sing – let alone pay to hear me sing … and I digress …

Anyway, on this gorgeous Autumn day (read 85 & sunny) we hit up the Crab Festival in Mandurah.  In addition to crabs they also had all sorts of motorbiking, skateboarding, and water sports to check out.  Amongst all the crabbiness there was an appropriately positioned random kitchen appliance tent.  One glance inside I realised that I needed to keep Rob away from this place.  I turned around and before I knew it there he was standing with “our” new purchase … *drum roll* … a mini pie maker.  Yup, at a crab festival.

Knowing that I’d have to immediately put it to use I started frantically looking for acceptable mini pie recipes.  My recipes were quickly set aside once “we” decided that we should make peanut butter, banana, and chocolate pies.  I’m not one to ever say no to that combination of flavours so we heated up the pie maker and made us some gooey pies.  Let’s just say we have a few bugs to work out and that they taste better than they look … for now …

Death Defying Trickery

Death Defying Trickery

The Family Fried Platter - complete with gravy

The Family Fried Platter – complete with gravy

Heaps of Crab Paella

Heaps of Crab Paella

"we can make mini pies all the time!"

“we can make mini pies all the time!”

I always opt for the frozen banana

I always opt for the frozen banana

About to go into the pie!

About to go into the pie!

It tastes really ooey gooey good

It tastes really ooey gooey good

One thought on “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Crab Festival

Leave a Reply

