There is No Place Like Nebraska

While talking to people in Perth they’re quick to pick up that I’m not from here and eventually I get asked where I’m from.  I have to admit something … I say Kansas City.  I LOVE being a Nebraskan and am proud of it, but to be quite honest when I say Nebraska I get a few responses:

  1. Friendly quiet smile and nod with eyes saying “I have NO CLUE where you’re talking about”
  2. Oh, yeah!  Do you know any eskimos (obviously confusing it with it’s rhyme time sister Alaska)?
  3. Where is that in relation to Texas?

Since Kansas City was my home for the 8 years prior to moving here it’s an easy thing to say – and everyone knows the Wizard of Oz, so at least they have some little sense of where it is … once I tell them in relation to Texas …

Today something happened to me.  I was at the gym working on my fitness and had one of the trainers do one of those great skinny tests where they pinch your fat and tell you how great your personality is and once again:

Trainer: I catch an accent. Where are you from?

Me: Kansas City

Trainer: Oh, I went to Uni at a school in a town called Lincoln Nebraska

Proud Nebraskan Me: SHUT THE FRONT DOOR! I’m from Nebraska!!! I finally met someone who knows where I’m from!!

Trainer:  Yeah, it’s sunnier and warmer here isn’t it.

Me: You better like Runza

Let’s just say it totally made my day, even after all of the fat pinching.  Because I love Nebraska so much, and thanks to my 4th grade curriculum that focused on Nebraska History, I am going to impart you with some fun Nebraska facts that can help you love it too!

  • Kearney Nebraska is the geographical dead center of the continental US
  • The following famous people are from Nebraska: Malcom X, Johnny Carson, Fred Astaire, Gerald Ford, Marlon Brando
  • The inventor of the strobe light is from Aurora Nebraska (can I get a nssk nssk)
  • Home of Arbor Day (we love trees!)
  • Do you like food? It’s the birthplace of the Reuben, Kool-Aid AND *drum roll* the McRib
  • Home of the College World Series
  • It’s illegal to fish for whales in Nebraska (we love marine life)
  • The 911 system was developed in Lincoln (we love saving lives)
  • Home of Carhenge – yup, it’s what it sounds like – a replica of Enland’s Stonehenge made of 38 cars
  • It is the only state to have a Unicameral government
  • Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo has the world’s largest indoor rain forest
  • Spam is produced there (the canned meat, not the email stuff)

There’s heaps more I could mention but I’ll save that for another day.  What has your state done?

One thought on “There is No Place Like Nebraska

  1. WA:

    The Governor Albert D. Rosellini Bridge at Evergreen Point is the longest floating bridge in the world. The bridge connects Seattle and Medina across Lake Washington.

    Washington is the birthplace of both Jimi Hendrix (Seattle) and Bing Crosby (Tacoma).

    Spokane was the smallest city in size to host a World’s Fair. – 1974

    Puget Sound’s many islands are served by the largest ferry fleet in the United States.

    In 2004 Washington ranked first in the nation in production of red raspberries (90.0% of total U.S. production), hops (75.0%), apples (58.1%), sweet cherries (47.3%), pears (42.6%), Concord grapes (39.3%), and Niagara grapes (31.6%).

    Popular games Pictionary, Pickle-ball, and Cranium were all invented in Washington.

    Eighty percent of the glacial ice in the U.S is found in Washington State.

    The Seattle Public Library system has the highest percentage of library card-holders per capita in the country.

    Seattle has the highest percentage of residents with a college degree or higher.

Leave a Reply

