Flashback Monday (aka “I’m traveling and too busy to write anything real”)

I’ve been out of Oz for a few weeks traveling around the good ol’ American Heartland (Omaha, Kansas City, St Louis, Kirksville and down South a little to Nashville).  It’s been great to spend time with family and catch up with friends.  In Kansas City whilst visiting with friends “Rina” shared with me that her sons were asking her who I was and her oldest quickly recalled that I “was the girl that changed all their photos!”.   I thought I’d re-post that entry to remind ya’ll (sorry, that’s the Nashville speaking) of that wonderous weekend in which I changed her families lives forever … (and because I’m too busy teaching my niece and nephews to preform the whistling solo in “Me & Julio Down in the Schoolyard” to write a real entry) … here you go:

#If A Picture Paints a Thousand Words# (original post date August of 2010)

If a picture paints a thousand words than this story is worth at least 6,000 – your welcome that you won’t have to be reading an actual 6,000 words of my drivel.

the “Ontreras Amily” in Marco Island

I kiddo-sat this past weekend.  I’m as shocked as everyone that someone would entrust their most precious beings in the world wth their most precious friend in the world – that’s a lot of precious to  be in one place.  I think “Rina” just wanted some of my awesomeness to rub off on their household … which happened.

My awesomeness entered their presence on Saturday morning while the boys were playing the Wii.  I promptly asked them what they wanted to do that day.  The response was an overwhelming “Wii, Pool, Pool, Pool”.  Well as the babysitter and given that it was the last weekend of the summer they got exactly Wii, Pool, Pool, Wii, Cartoon Network, Walmart, Pizza”.  I did give them a treat for having to endure Walmart but since we were going to have a bbq the next day we needed food.  The weekend consisted of:

  • um, babysitter what’s your name?
  • throw me! throw me again! throw me again! (this was all in the pool)
  • do we get a treat?
  • stop hitting me! (this was not directed towards me but to a brother)
  • i don’t have to stop hitting you. the babysitter’s asleep and can’t see! (once again kind of not directed towards me)
  • whoa, how do you know all the super mario secrets!?!? (to which i responded, “yes, i would like to call that ‘the 80s’ “)

I could tell I was making such an impact on these young boys lives that I felt I should leave tokens of me. The plan was hatched.  With the assistance of “Arolyn” and “Cott” we managed to swap out 6 of the framed family photos to be images of yours truly.  The masterpiece is the 8 x 10 family portrait from Marco Island that I am now included in.  I have yet to hear if they have found these pictures.  I’m not sure when they will, but I can only imagine the joy in their hearts when they do.

#If a face could launch a thousand ships, then where am I to go#

UPDATE:  I would like to mention that the best part of this story is that in all reality I only replaced 5 photos.  After reading this entry “Rina” kept looking for that 6th picture for quite a while …

Leave a Reply

