Keeping it Civil

I’m a bit of a history nerd.  Not the type that could ever go on the History Channel as an expert but the type that gets stupidly excited perusing the non-fiction aisles of Barnes & Noble.  Okay, that’s a lie, now that I’m down under I do all of my perusing on the iBooks virtual shelves.  I recently read a wonderful book Confederates in the Attic by Tony Horwitz in which the author explores the Southern preoccupation with the Civil War … yes, the one that ended over 140 years ago.  My favourite parts included his foray into war reenactments.  The level of dedication of these participants was awe inspiring (I mean, come on, to ensure the authentic look of the uniforms one gentleman soaked his jacket buttons in urine – that, my dear friends is dedication).

At the same time in which I was reading this book I also finished my most recent quilt using nothing other than Civil War reproduction fabrics – talk about timing!  Keeping with tradition this quilt got it’s own photo shoot.  Since no battles of the American Civil War were technically (or in theory) fought in Australia I had to compromise on location.  I chose one of the many Australian war memorials in Kings Park and draped the quilt everywhere I could.  Here you go …

One thought on “Keeping it Civil

Leave a Reply

