Haunted Kitchen

Spoiler Alert: There is a recipe at the end of this entry!  It’s been far too long since I’ve written of any culinary adventures in my kitchen.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy cooking or baking or eating anymore (especially eating), it’s just that we’ve simplified things a bit.  In January we started having our meals/ food delivered to us weekly.  It’s been absolutely fantastically easy and gives me tons of time to catch up on Toddlers & Tiaras and Hoarders  dedicate my productivity to more pressing matters.

The thing about the deliveries is that the food must be kept cold – so it is packed with dry ice.  Now, anyone who has ever been in elementary school or who has tried to make their own haunted house by ruining their mother’s nice white sheets with blood ketchup and peeling mountains of eyeballs grapes knows that dry ice is the best thing ever (even though grown ups always talk about the danger).  It is quintessential into making fog, which of course is a major indicator of doom and gloom and all things haunted.  Every Thursday as my delivery arrives I remove the dry ice, put in the sink, and get the water running.  The fog quickly runs all over the counter and Rob starts rolling his eyes as he begins to receive pictures and warnings that the kitchen has gone all haunted on us.  I realized this fun should not all be used alone so I’ve been sharing the dry ice and create other haunted events.  Our Twilight sailing has fallen victim to this haunted-ness (although the crew much appreciated this over the nights in which I serenaded them).

With all this haunting going on it was time I tried some baking to make sure I hadn’t lost my touch.  I had two events the same weekend which required large amounts of sugar so I did a massive pre-bake and freeze.  One was the Thunderbird weekend at Rottnest Island (more about that in a later post) and a sundowner fundraiser at the beach for our Relay For Life team.  So I had a friend over to help and we made 1) peanut butter cookies dipped in chocolate, 2) peanut butter & chocolate no-bake cookies (yes, I have a pb/ choc obsession), and 3) turtle bars.  I’m here to share the pb dipped in chocolate recipe because I was very apprehensive when I saw this Paule Dean recipe (it uses no flour) and was shocked then it turned out marvelous (I did modify it a little bit).  Here you go …

Magical Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 Cup peanut butter (I prefer crunchy)
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1/3 Cup brown sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F (or 160 C fan forced)
  2. Combine all of the ingredients (be sure to take the egg out of the shell though)
  3. Roll the dough into walnut sized shaped balls and place on prepared baking sheet (and remember that if you’re out of parchment paper, don’t send your husband to the store for parchment paper, especially in a country where it’s called baking paper – it will be very confusing)
  4. With a fork press in the criss-cross shape to flatten. (If you dip the fork in sugar first it won’t stick – and you get the benefit of more sugar …)
  5. Bake for 8 minutes and then let set another few minutes before placing on drying wrack.
  6. Once they are fully cooled melt chocolate in a bowl and then dip half of the cookie into the chocolate and set on parchment paper to cool.
  7. Eat

Leave a Reply

