More Books & FWQB Weeks 15 – 18

Can you say slacker?  I’ve had these book reviews and quilt blocks just sitting around, waitin’ to be posted and I’ve been having too much fun wallowing in President Day bliss.  So I have put my patriotic celebrations aside and here are my recent reads and blocks.

Magic Steps by Tamora Pierce – First book of The Circle Opens quartet. Light read full of YA magicnessment. (I swear that’s a word).

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson – I read this with all of my Apple product en towe (iPad, iPod, iPhone, MacBook Air, iMac). Walter Issacson wrote a very good book. He was very thorough in his research and interviews and did not get pulled into the subjects charm. That being said, Steve Jobs was charismatic and calculated. He was the driving force for so many life changing technological advancements but I don’t care how smart you are, how rich you are, or how awesome you think you are – it doesn’t give you the right to be such a jerk to people.

House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III – Such a well written, tragic book. The reading of this caused me so much anxiety that I kept wanting to take a break from it, but kept me drawn-in in a way that people can’t jump off a sinking ship (unless they’re an Italian cruise ship captain). I felt heart breaking-ly opinionated about the characters and the decisions they made.

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson & David Oliver Relin –  love non-fiction books – when they’re written well. Oh yeah, and when I don’t find the main character annoying. I think the work that has been done is great I couldn’t get past Greg Mortenson (and the pending law suit of his lies included in the book).

Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri – I hadn’t read short stories since I was in the 7th grade and found this to be a much more agreeable experience. I enjoyed interloping into bits of lives of people who all share the feeling of displacement or aloneness but still find internal resolution or solace. I also thought it was going to be entirely depressing but found it enjoyable!

and onto the quilt blocks …

Leave a Reply

