FWQB Weeks 12 & 13 & 14, Books, and My Thoughts on Pop Culture

Books

So I’ve read some new books with this new year.  I’m 3 books into my 2012 goal (once again see GoodReads links to your right hand side).  Here are my reviews:

Then Again by Diane Keaton – How not interesting. First of all – STOP MAKING COLLAGES, YOU ARE A GROWN WOMAN, NOT A 12 YEAR OLD! … and although she seems anti-marriage because it was oppressive to her seemingly creative mother to me it was apparent that it was because neither Woody Allen, Al Pacino, nor Warren Beatty would marry her (and she’s obviously still in love with the first two).

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon – Intriguing point of view. Christopher’s story, outlooks, and achievements were endearing. I found some situations hurt my heart a bit, but realised he wouldn’t understand why they should hurt his too.

Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – Kept me laughing (technically giggling on the couch), I’d be willing to trade-in two friends to be friends with Mindy. (Don’t worry, if you’re a friend reading this review I wouldn’t trade you in).

Thoughts on Pop Culture (specifically Beyonce and Jay-Z)

Apparently Beyonce and Jay-Z had a baby this week (I normally pretend to not pay attention to celebrity “stuff” … or something like that).  I’m kind of getting over the name (Blue Ivy Carter for enquiring minds) however I was verbally assaulted by Jay-Z’s new rap to his daughter not once but TWICE whilst in the car today.  At first I thought it was a radio station joke … and then I realized it wasn’t … here are some of my “favorite” lyrics …

  • Your grandpa died of liver failure
  • The most beautifulest thing in the world
  • You was made in Paris
  • Make sure the plane you on is bigger than your carry-on baggage
  • You’re my child with the child from Destiny’s Child

And it times for the quilt blocks.  Weeks 12 and 13 and 14. 

One thought on “FWQB Weeks 12 & 13 & 14, Books, and My Thoughts on Pop Culture

  1. Wow. Those lyrics are awful. Just awful. So my posting at Intellectual Recreation is lackluster at best. There’s lots more to read about my life at joleeandnate (dot) blogspot (dot) com. It’s very Beckett-centric, but a recent post is all about my favorite reads of 2011.

Leave a Reply

