Book it! Book it! Real Good

I’m a reader.  We know this.  That’s why I saw my 2011 resolution as a fun (and apparently anti-social) goal.  Reading 52 books or 1 book per week.  Before I give you a Becca-ized recap of my reading here are some random reading thoughts …

  • I agree with the library poster that “reading is fun-damental”
  • I think Pizza Hut should have a Book It!  program for adults, I’d be willing to be a spokesperson for a free tee-shirt.  That being said, if anyone is willing to buy me this Book-it! tee shirt (or this one) I will promise you a lot of friendship and that I will always photoshop pics of you before posting them on facebook.
  • When my elementary school switched from using the trusty card catalog to a new and flashy computer system they had a naming contest.  My suggestion was “The Booker Hooker” … get it, because you could hook the books you were looking for.  It should’ve won.

My book reviews are all available through my goodreads link (view widget on the right hand column please) so I won’t bore with a recap of those.  What I’ll do instead is put the books in the following categories: Highly Recommended, Guilty Pleasures, ‘Eh Decent *shoulder shrug*, Stay Away at all Costs

Highly Recommended 

Non Fiction

  • The Destiny of the Republic by Candace Millard (Also recommend Millard’s River of Doubt)
  • In the Garden of the Beasts By Erik Larson (Also recommend Larson’s Devil in the White City)
  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson
  • Down Under by Bill Bryson
  • Unfamiliar Fishes by Sarah Vowell (Also recommend Vowell’s Assassination Vacation)
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand
  • Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua
  • Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall
  • Immortal LIfe of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Fiction
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Teo Obreht
  • The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
  • The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
  • The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
Young Adult
  • White Cat by Holly Black(Curse Workers #1)
  • Red Glove by Holly Black (Curse Workers #2)
  • Matched by Ally Condie (2nd books in the series is under guilty pleasures because it wasn’t good …)

‘Eh Decent *shoulder shrug*

  • The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Shared by Alice Ozma
  • Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • The Murder of the Century: The Gilded Age Crime That Scandalized a City & Sparked the Tabloid Wars by Paul Collins
  • A Fortunate Life by A.B. Facey
  • When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman
  • Faith: A Novel by Jennifer Haigh
  • Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of LIfe in the World by Mary Roach
  • The Lollipop Shores by Joanne Harris
  • The Postmistress by Sarah Black
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

Guilty Pleasures

  • The Litigators by John Grisham
  • Crossed by Ally Condie
  • Visions of Sugar Plums by Janet Evanovich
  • One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
  • Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich
  • Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
  • Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse #11) by Charlaine Harris
  • Last Night at Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger
  • House of Night Novels by P.C. Cast
  1. Marked
  2. Betrayed
  3. Chosen
  4. Untamed
  5. Hunted
  6. Tempted
  7. Burned
  8. Awakened

STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!

  • Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger
  • Lives of the Monster Dogs by Kirsten Bakis
  • Incendiary by Chris Cleave
  • Mennonite in a LIttle Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen
  • An Exact Replica of a Figment of my Imagination by Elizabeth McCracken
I’m setting the goal a bit higher this year – a whopping 53 books.  My wish in 2012 is to decrease books in the “Stay away at all costs” category …  and with that I leave with you with the following …

Source: songsungmeg.tumblr.com via Becca on Pinterest

Oops – I meant this … silly computer …

Source: 9gag.com via Becca on Pinterest

One thought on “Book it! Book it! Real Good

Leave a Reply

