Da Plane! Da Plane!

It arrived, it arrived! Our air shipment has arrived!

What this means – this means that I now have kitchen basics to go with our living arrangements of patio furniture and air mattress.  Now don’t get me wrong, it’s one of those nice Aerobed platform air mattress, not your run of the mill parent’s air mattress that you get stuck sleeping on because your bedroom has been turned into the “quilting” room and deflates under you in the middle of the night.  Up until now my motto has been “if it fits in the toaster, I can cook it” but now I have a real pot and skillet and casserole dish and mixing bowls and oh yeah, real non-paper plats at my disposal.  The only issue is I still can’t figure out how to turn on the gas for my range so I spent the weekend cooking over the side burner of our new grill. This was made possible due to “his” and “hers” indulgences of a manly size barbecue and a stand mixer (so I can make all sorts of baked goodies in the effort to win some friends).

In other fun news – we got a car!  It’s a fun little silver Mercedes city car for trips to the market and weekend outings.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still afraid of actually driving here but it turns out that I’m great at sitting passenger while “Ob” drives and I read the GPS directions for him to go 45 minutes across Oz in wrong direction of the wrong wildlife sanctuary (seriously, how many wildlife sanctuaries can one place really have?).  I made the slight error up to him me by a trip to Ikea to test out how many flat packs the new car can fit!

Book Review: “Marked” House of the Night novel.  After reading more serious genres for a while I thought it was time to jump over to a new-to-me young adult vampire series. It was fun mindless reading.  The authors (mother and daughter pair) were so good at capturing the wonderment of the teenage voice that I didn’t know if I should unfriend them or nag them to sit up straight.

Leave a Reply

