Entering Stage Right: Murphy’s Law on Home Remodels

When I was little my parents had a Murphy’s Law daily calendar.  At that time I had no clue what Murphy’s Law but now I understand fully …

We began the path of the home remodel New Years weekend because we were losers and had no plans – It was also the only weekend were in town after three months of travel.  This small start became a month long project that is now complete.  In total we repainted every space in the main floor and upstairs, removed a metric ton of wallpaper, and re-tiled every place the had tile before as well as every place that should’ve but didn’t (can we say carpeted bathroom???).  Approximately 1/2 way through while we were  having a “painting the house date night” I had an epiphany *ding!*  Everything seemed to be going waaaaaay tooooo smooooothly (wall paper mania had yet to occur mind you).  I also realized “Ob” was once again packing for another marathon three week trip.  It hit me – we were inevitabley going to be transferred after all of this blood, sweat, tears, cheese balls and diet coke.  I couldn’t have set up a more perfect place for tragedy if I were a Greek playwrite.  Two weeks later (smack dab in the middle of the blizzard of Oz) we got the notice.  We are moving – to Australia – it was music to my ears as I was putting on a third layer of sweats to keep warm and conjuring plans to convince someone else to shovel the driveway.  The location made me forget about the large burn on my hand from the steamer that is now scabbing over AND it also made me slightly less bitter about “Ob’s” text messaging of how warm Perth.  With this news I will also be changing the blog name soon to reflect the new adventure that is about to be embarked upon – so ideas are welcome.  I’m also now realizing that this entry is not in the least bit entertaining which means I had a relatively painless week.

Resolution Update: “Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” – AWESOME and definitely recommend it.  “Mennonite in a little black dress” – could’ve been good if the author was better.

One thought on “Entering Stage Right: Murphy’s Law on Home Remodels

  1. You are leaving the country? Crazy! Make sure you eat lots of Australian cheese. It’s delicious….mmmmmmmmmuuuuuuhhhhh!

Leave a Reply

