#You Say You Want a Resolution#

Ahhhh, resolution time is here again.  After failing miserably for may years (I was never going to get into the Guinness book of World Records anyways so I don’t know why I kept trying) I began to implement resolutions that were more reasonable. The last few years I resolved to “travel more” and “run a lot”.  This year I’m going to “read a lot more”.  I tend to read a lot anyways (contrary to what my book club thinks) so I figured this was in alignment with previous years.  I had a lesson today in goal setting which taught me that in order to have increased success in achieving goals one should write them down.  So it appears you are the unsuspecting victims (disclaimer: you are choosing to read this blog – unless your name is fiance Rob – so I guess you can’t be considered a victim per se).  I also learned that goals need to be specific so I am quantifying “a lot more”, my goal is to read a book a week – 52 books for 2011 and my sweet new Nook Color (and DVR so I can still stay caught up on Hoarders & Glee) will help me get there.

Don’t worry, my blog won’t become a “book report” blog however I will keep you up to date on my progress and will let you know which books I heart and which ones pretty much made me wish I were illiterate (shhh – don’t tell Barbara Bush).

I am starting out with House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer for my book club.  Please, if you have any book suggestions send them my way or else I may be stuck the NYT top 100.

Here’s what I read in 2010 (for enquiring minds).  I would do the math on my percentage increase however my math skills rival my singing ability. Happy New Year!

  • Harry Potter 1 – 7
  • Room
  • Devil in the White City
  • Little Bee
  • Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
  • Girl Who Played with Fire
  • Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest
  • Mockingjay
  • Infidel
  • The Help
  • Actor and the Housewife
  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
  • Little Bee
  • Born to Run
  • The Lost Museum
  • Bitter is the New Black
  • Everyone Worth Knowing
  • I Capture the Castle
  • Her Fearful Symmetry
  • Sookie Stackhouse books 6 -10
  • The Other Wes Moore
  • Blink
  • Wench
One thought on “#You Say You Want a Resolution#

Leave a Reply

