“Yoga! Yoga! Yoga!” or “Namaste Can I Have Another”

ahhhh, yoga … i finally started going back after an ADD forced hiatus.  I have a love-hate relationship with Yoga.  Don’t worry, I won’t keep you guessing why …

I started going to yoga again mainly because I need to be limber for my running (i like how i say that as though i’m any good at running and that it helps me reach a highly competitive level – ha) and for my all-day cubicle dwelling.   It’s also a good opportunity to take some time to relax and clear your mind.  The problem with this is at times I feel as though I have self diagnosed ADD – which is not like the time I had a self diagnosed feline liver disease thanks to WebMD being slightly off track.  The entire hour of relaxing and breathing in through your nose and out through your mouth has me tapping my fingers and staring glaring at the clock.  With every lunge I’m busy composing emails in my head and planning my weekend minute by minute (although that’s not hard to plan running and laying out).

The other hardship is that three of the walls in the yoga room are lined with mirrors, and you wear tight clothing, so each time you open your eyes you get to see every single angle of your toned physique – or whatever you have.  Oh yeah, and if you look in the mirrors parallel to each other you get to see those angles infinite times! (side note: I think the last time I use the word infinite I was telling my 6-year-old nephew “Am” that “I’m awesome times infinite”).  Yoga also takes balance – which my Fly Girl booty really throws off this equilibrium – no wonder their dancing was as graceful as the prima ballerinas.  It is also painstakingly harder than it looks – the other people in class who knew what they were doing were actually sweating.  I was too busy falling over, but I bet I would have been sweating if given the opportunity.

Anyhoo – I’ll go back to yoga, if only to make it to the sweating level.

One thought on ““Yoga! Yoga! Yoga!” or “Namaste Can I Have Another”

  1. I try to do yoga sometimes too. Not very good at it at all. I am amazed at how difficult it is to do some of those moves that look so simple. Crazy.

    Good luck in your endevours!

Leave a Reply

