Pikes Peak Ascentathon Travelogue Day 1

 

 

6:26 AM

6:26 AM flight.

6:26 AM Flight means having to be at airport by 5:30.

6:26 AM Flight means having to be at airport by 5:30 means having to leave house at 4:45.

6:26 AM Flight means having to be at airport by 5:30 means having to leave house at 4:45 means having to be up at 4:00.

6:26 AM Flight means having to be at airport by 5:30 means having to leave house at 4:45 means having to be up at 4:00 means 6:26 AM flights should be avoided in the future AT ALL COSTS … 

To the dismay of those around me at the airport, I’m still funny at 6:26 AM.  As i boarded the 1/2 full flight, i looked at the woman sitting next to me and anounced:

Hi! I just downloaded some GREAT songs on my ipod to sing along too!

Man three rows ahead of me turns around in horror

Yes, I’m really into showtunes right now.  My rendition of Wicked is absolutely delightful!

 The woman next to me quietly let me know that she sometimes likes to hum …

COLORADO

Flew to Denver, drove to Colorado Springs.

Went to the REI store.  For those who are not familiar with REI it is similar to a Nordstrom for outdoor enthusiasts – cycling, backpacks, crocs galore in all colors, carabeener clips (real ones, not the fake ones used for key chains that say “not intended for real climbing”).  I bought an orange headband, I don’t know why.  Going forward I shall blame everything questionable on the effects of high altitude.

From the REI store, we were able to see the top of Pikes Peak.  Little did I know that this was the only time I would see the Peak (literary effect of foreshadowing).

Driving into Manitou Springs can only be described as whimsical.  The main street was full of shoppes (yes, it was so whimsical that the extra “pe” was necessary in the spelling of the word shops) that sold authentic Colorado Art and Threads.  I had my pick of Kokopelli, buffalo statuettes, and dream-catchers.  There was also an Old Tyme Photo studio as well as a dulcimer store – I will find out what a dulcimer is as soon as the one I ordered arrives in the mail.  We attempted to walk around town for a bit however with the lack of breathing ability due to altitude.  We stopped in the first bar & grille we could find and ate authentic Colorado chicken fingers and french fries.  

The lodging was quaint (I hope by now my creative use of adjectives has been noticed).  It consisted of a series of cabins with tasteful wood paneling and a swimming hole.  I am not joking when I say that the ice machine was literally a cooler with ice on the front porch of the “main lodge” with a sign that read “Ice For Rooms”.

The first day was long, I can’t remember exactly but I think it may have started early.  I went to bed at 9:00.

End of Day 1

<SCENE>

Ice Machine

Leave a Reply

